¡Viva España! – II

18 MAY 2024


Stathis Gyftakis: Celebration II, op. 116 (World premiere)
Édouard Lalo: Spanish Symphony for violin and orchestra in D minor, No. 21
Georges Bizet: Suites No. 1 and No. 2 from the opera “Carmen”
Soloist: Christoforos Petridis (violin)
Conductor: Andreas Tselikas
With the support of the Embassy of Spain in Greece and the Instituto Cervantes.
CYCLE: ¡Viva España! 
City of Athens Symphony Orchestra 
French composers have always had a great fondness for Spanish music. As part of this year's tribute to works inspired by the captivating Spanish temperament, the City of Athens Symphony Orchestra presents the Spanish Symphony for violin and orchestra in D minor, No. 21, the renowned virtuosic masterpiece by Édouard Lalo, dedicated to the legendary Spanish violinist Pablo de Sarasate. The Spanish dance element dominates in the highly popular Suites No. 1 and No. 2 from Georges Bizet's opera “Carmen”, which were orchestrated by his friend Ernest Guiraud after the composer's death. Lastly, there is great anticipation for the world premiere of the new work by Stathis Gyftakis.


18 MAY 2024




Seats with limited visibility €3
Zone D (Students, families with more than 3 children, people up to 25, unemployed, people over 65) €5
Zone C 7
Zone B €10
Zone A €12
Distinguished Zone €25
Skip to content