16 MARCH 2024


Benjamin Britten: Four Sea Interludes from the opera “Peter Grimes”, op. 33A
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, op.85
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 3 in C major, op. 52
Soloist: Emmanuelle Bertrand (cello)
Conductor: Andreas Tselikas
Image: ©Gatsi
City of Athens SymphonyOrchestra
The orchestral suite “Four Sea Interludes” from the opera “Peter Grimes” by the gifted composer Benjamin Britten has inspired the title “The Sea” in a programme of captivating symphonic repertoire. The story is set in an isolated fishing village, where the inhabitants experience a dark drama. The invited soloist for the concert is Emmanuelle Bertrand, one of the most prominent cellists of her generation.  
She will perform the heartrending Cello Concerto in E minor, composed by Edward Elgar after the end of World War I. It is one of the most popular works among musicians and audiences alike, thanks to its confessional mood and poignant lyricism. The programme concludes with the masterful Symphony No. 3 by Jean Sibelius. 


16 MARCH 2024




Seats with limited visibility €3
Zone D (Students, families with more than 3 children, people up to 25, unemployed, people over 65) 5
Zone C 7
Zone B €10
Zone A €12
Distinguished Zone €25
Skip to content